Energy One
Status
Not open for further replies.

Raywood

The Pirate
Staff member
Calendar Participant
Troop Supporter
Here is my progress of rebuilding my top-end on my 05 Chopper with the TP rockers. Thought I would do a "How-To" on it since I went and took a lot of pictures during the teardown and re-assembly. I'm no certified mechanic but do have a lot of experience with V-Twins for about 30 yrs. (don’t mean shit!)
I ensured I had the BDM service manual and the S&S SSW+ motor manual plus I printed off a few of the .pdf files from the S&S website that provide more information than the manual does. I also requested from TP Performance a copy of their files on re-assembly of the TP rockers. I've posted those here in the How To section already for those of you that have the TP boxes.
I broke this down to three (3) parts. First is dis-assembly, second is machining/cleanup and third is final assembly.
Ok, here we go. :D

Dis-assembly:

First thing I did was blow the motor down real good with an air hose. It's looks real dirty and it is but all the grit and sand and such has been blow free. Then I removed interference (Navy terminology!) by removing the gas tank, carburetor, spark plugs, coil cover and exhaust.

I had to tear up my harness by removing all the shrink wrapping to get to all the connectors to dis-connect the wires for compression releases, coil and ignitions switch.

Then I pulled the rocker covers (4 bolts each head) allowing me access to the lower rocker box.

Pull pushrod tube keepers and then collapse the pushrods.

Next was to remove all the bolts for the rockers and lower box and pull the assembly off in one piece. This allows you to pull the pushrods out.

You should note the location of each pushrod. The manual tells you what pushrod goes where as all four are different lengths but they are easy to remember.