Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Sign Up

Where is Wire-Plus???

Discussion in 'General' started by mmachine, Aug 23, 2017.

  1. Th3InfamousI

    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    10,691
    Likes Received:
    15,789
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Texas
    My Bike(s):
    04 Ridgeback & 07 K9
    First Name:
    Eric
    Maybe try again in a week when it doesn't sell.

    Putting in a lot of effort for your customer I hope he appreciates it. Not many businesses would go that extra mile. Although you'd be putting in unit you can't get a warantee on which puts you in a tight spot if something happened.



    Sent from my 2PS64 using Tapatalk
     
    TapioK likes this.
  2. mmachine

    mmachine Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Orchard, TX
    My Bike(s):
    1987 H-D FXLR, 1998 FLT, 2008 Big Dog K9 & custom rigid
    First Name:
    John
    I try to treat everyone well - always have. Plus he's wanting to sell it so I know he'd rather not have a giant repair bill. But it is what it is - he may have to get a couple harnesses and a new retrofit kit. I know there's better stuff out there now, but there's also a lot of folks who put the WP kit in that will be SOL when a module fries. I'll see if they'll drop the price in a week. Then it's up to the customer if he wants a part with no warranty.
     
    TapioK likes this.
  3. Th3InfamousI

    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    10,691
    Likes Received:
    15,789
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Texas
    My Bike(s):
    04 Ridgeback & 07 K9
    First Name:
    Eric
    Yes I hear ya! I had the same power unit fry on my bike last year after about 10k trouble free miles.

    I understand customer wants to sell so it is what it is.

    Sent from my 2PS64 using Tapatalk
     
    mmachine and TapioK like this.
  4. mmachine

    mmachine Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Orchard, TX
    My Bike(s):
    1987 H-D FXLR, 1998 FLT, 2008 Big Dog K9 & custom rigid
    First Name:
    John
    Since the bike's been wired for Wire-Plus (stock EHC plugs gone) has anyone heard if the Motogadget unit is any good? I've made my own complete wiring harnesses before for custome bikes. Just wondering if all the stock switches, etc., on the 2004 Pitbull can be used with the Motogadget unit. Is there anything else out there that doesn't require stock EHC plugs? Hell for that matter, is it possible to get new parts for stock EHC plugs and make them hole again (given enough time and coffee and seditives and coffee?
     
    BadDawg Bill and pknowles like this.
  5. mmachine

    mmachine Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Orchard, TX
    My Bike(s):
    1987 H-D FXLR, 1998 FLT, 2008 Big Dog K9 & custom rigid
    First Name:
    John
    Well since it has a Wire-Plus system and they are missing in action, I'd need the two plugs that plug into the stock EHC. I doubt they are available anywhere because they were "sealed" from the factory. But anything is possible.
     
  6. Th3InfamousI

    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    10,691
    Likes Received:
    15,789
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Texas
    My Bike(s):
    04 Ridgeback & 07 K9
    First Name:
    Eric
    The Stock plugs are available from Derrick and Donna but for what it would cost ($300) you might as well get the new RIP kit for $700 from the new BigDog. Even with new plugs you would need another EHC to plug it in.

    The NEW Motogadget Unit in theory should work with all the stock controls EXCEPT your High/Lo or Off/On switch. I heard they came out with a new version the old version in the folks who tried it the start cycle circuit failed on both of them over time. I don't think the motogadget units were designed originally with Big Inch motors in mind, but i've read their new version is more robust but nobody has experimented.

    I don't know how the motogadget handles monetary switches but you could get two additonal switches from thunderheart that would do the conversion. With that said again you are back to the cost of the RIP kit which you can order from BigDog directly or Doc's ESC. Both units use the Thunderheart MicroHarness as it's main unit and comes with all the wire to feed up the backbone and just plug and play all to the tune of about $700-800. Not what your client wants to hear I am sure but hopefully he is respectful of the position you are in not to mention the time you have spent trying to acqurie a WP unit from obviously a company that no longer gives a rat ass. I don't know if this will help you at all smoothing it over but there are plenty of us who have discontinued using our WP's for the newer technology some have done it just as preventive measures prior to a failure.
     
    #26 Th3InfamousI, Sep 20, 2017
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2017
    Matt Moore likes this.
  7. TapioK

    TapioK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    Messages:
    2,966
    Likes Received:
    4,633
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Naples, FL / Finland
    My Bike(s):
    K9 -08, Chopper -03, Fat Boy (-97), BMW 1150GS -95
    First Name:
    Tapio
    M-unit is just fine with momentary switches, Hi Lo should work too. It needs a relay for starter, unit only handles 20 amp.
     
  8. mmachine

    mmachine Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Orchard, TX
    My Bike(s):
    1987 H-D FXLR, 1998 FLT, 2008 Big Dog K9 & custom rigid
    First Name:
    John
    Thanks for the info. Customer is going to have to do something. I emailed DOC about their unit. I'll give him his choices and see which one he jumps on. Thanks again for the info. Just wondering how many more fried Wire Plus units I'm going to run into. Oh well, job security I guess.
     
  9. Th3InfamousI

    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    10,691
    Likes Received:
    15,789
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Texas
    My Bike(s):
    04 Ridgeback & 07 K9
    First Name:
    Eric
    Well at least you'll know ahead of time when the next one comes in to not even waste your time. Haha

    Sent from my 2PS64 using Tapatalk
     
    mmachine and TapioK like this.
  10. Rally

    Rally Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    495
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Southern FL (Miami)
    My Bike(s):
    '05 BD Chopper, '07 Street Glide

    mmachine,
    I have a "new" in the box WP I purchased some years ago as a back up to my original BD control unit. My original 2005 BD Chopper still runs just fine don't you know.
    Send me a pm and I'll sell the entire kit with the key switch I also purchased with it.
    Thanks
     
    mmachine, PROFLYER and HMAN like this.
  11. PROFLYER

    PROFLYER SWOLE

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,891
    Likes Received:
    906
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    My Bike(s):
    06 K9, 06 Mastiff (wife's)
    First Name:
    Sutton
    Not a bad idea @Rally especially since we have two plug and play options that work with the stock harness.
     
    mmachine likes this.
  12. Rally

    Rally Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    495
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Southern FL (Miami)
    My Bike(s):
    '05 BD Chopper, '07 Street Glide
    mmachine,
    conversation started, check for it.
     
  13. mmachine

    mmachine Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Orchard, TX
    My Bike(s):
    1987 H-D FXLR, 1998 FLT, 2008 Big Dog K9 & custom rigid
    First Name:
    John
    Thanks to Rally, I should have my customer back on the road this week. I appreciate all the help from everyone! Will work with DOC in the future to solve the EHC issue on other bikes. Thanks again everyone for your help!
     
    Bdm4ever, PROFLYER and pknowles like this.

Share This Page