Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Sign Up

Thunderheart Ignition Module??

Discussion in 'Ignition / Electronics / Batteries' started by xxcarpxx, May 28, 2015.

  1. xxcarpxx

    xxcarpxx Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2015
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    112
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Cullman Alabama
    My Bike(s):
    07 BDM Chopper
    When I bought my 07 Chopper, I was told the EHC Module had been replaced with an upgrade... as I have become more knowledgeable about BDM (thanks to you guys and the forums) I realize I still have a factory EHC.. Now I'm beginning to wonder if the previous owner was confused with a Ignition Module upgrade.... I have looked into the Thunderheart Ignition Module since I have had EHC issues.... It looks as if I may already have the Thunderheart Ignition Module.... is there a way to visually determine the difference between the Factory and upgraded Ignition??
    Below is a picture of what is currently on my Dog...
     

    Attached Files:

  2. blacktopper

    blacktopper Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    504
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Location:
    Pittsburg Kansas 66762
    My Bike(s):
    07 K 9, 08 Ridgeback, 10 K9
    I'm pretty sure that is the stock unit. I don't see the mechanism that allows you to adjust the timing.
     
    xxcarpxx likes this.
  3. xxcarpxx

    xxcarpxx Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2015
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    112
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Cullman Alabama
    My Bike(s):
    07 BDM Chopper
    Thanks for the info.. I was hoping I may have lucked up with a Thunderheart...
     
  4. KaptinAmerika

    KaptinAmerika Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,574
    Likes Received:
    1,499
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    USA
    My Bike(s):
    2006 Big Dog K9
    First Name:
    Curtis
    Can you give us a better picture that isn't blurred?
    It looks stock but can't tell what is in the white area next to the LED.
    Some of the older TH programmable modules had a white dial.

    Thunderheart Programmable Ignition Module
     
    xxcarpxx likes this.
  5. francoblay1

    francoblay1 The Spaniard

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Messages:
    15,038
    Likes Received:
    12,342
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    L´Escala, 17130 Spain
    My Bike(s):
    K9 (2006)
    First Name:
    Franco
    Yup, what Kap says.....

    Look for a dial with an arrow and numbers... if you have it, then you have the ASM5012 programmable IM.

    [​IMG]
     
    cdogg556 and xxcarpxx like this.
  6. xxcarpxx

    xxcarpxx Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2015
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    112
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Cullman Alabama
    My Bike(s):
    07 BDM Chopper
     
  7. francoblay1

    francoblay1 The Spaniard

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Messages:
    15,038
    Likes Received:
    12,342
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    L´Escala, 17130 Spain
    My Bike(s):
    K9 (2006)
    First Name:
    Franco
    It should have a dial like the one in this picture, it could be white too.

    BTW, If you need the Manual for it I have it in PDF. Or just go to TH webpage, you will also find it there.

    [​IMG]
     
    cdogg556 and xxcarpxx like this.
  8. xxcarpxx

    xxcarpxx Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2015
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    112
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Cullman Alabama
    My Bike(s):
    07 BDM Chopper
    I got around to working on The Dog today... I guess I do have the Adjustable Thunderheart Module....
     

    Attached Files:

  9. francoblay1

    francoblay1 The Spaniard

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Messages:
    15,038
    Likes Received:
    12,342
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    L´Escala, 17130 Spain
    My Bike(s):
    K9 (2006)
    First Name:
    Franco
    Yes you do! and you are running way to high if you ask me!!!!!!!!

    F= 6240 Rev Limit RPM & almost 40* advance!

    Most people here runs at Setting #3 or 4.

    See page 5 in the Manual.
    Fuck, too large... pass me your email address if you want me to send it to you.

    [​IMG]
     
  10. francoblay1

    francoblay1 The Spaniard

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Messages:
    15,038
    Likes Received:
    12,342
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    L´Escala, 17130 Spain
    My Bike(s):
    K9 (2006)
    First Name:
    Franco
    Extract I kept from an old post in here:


    "Ok, i am a research nut! I called S&S, and Bob Wood, and come up with the same answer on timing. They both say that 30-32 degrees of advance is what makes these motors run the best. So on the Thunder Heart, setting the box at the 3 or 4 setting should give you the best overall performance. You can go to 5 if you have good gas and live in a low altitude location.


    Setting 3 is 30 degrees


    Setting 4 is 32 degrees
    Setting 5 is 34 degrees
    Setting 6 is 36 degreesI was told by the local BDM dealer that with stock compression to be no more that about 30 degrees. I ran mine at 30 and 32 and I am staying at 32 for now until the gas goes to shit!




    All I know is that bikes do get hot, traffic or no traffic and more than 30 degree timing on a hot day will eat your lunch sooner or later. You like what you have and I like what I have so it lets ride."

     
    BWG56 and xxcarpxx like this.
  11. xxcarpxx

    xxcarpxx Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2015
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    112
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Cullman Alabama
    My Bike(s):
    07 BDM Chopper
    Thanks Franco.... jamiebcarp@gmail.com
    It was set like that when I bought the Dog...and has run great..until the EHC fried...
     
    BWG56 likes this.
  12. francoblay1

    francoblay1 The Spaniard

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Messages:
    15,038
    Likes Received:
    12,342
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    L´Escala, 17130 Spain
    My Bike(s):
    K9 (2006)
    First Name:
    Franco
    Position Rev Limit RPM
    0 5984
    1 5984
    2 5984
    3 5984
    4 5984
    5 5984
    6 5984
    7 5984
    8 6240
    9 6240
    A 6240
    B 6240
    C 6240
    D 6240
    E 6240
    F 6240

    upload_2015-6-21_8-46-52.png
     
    xxcarpxx likes this.
  13. francoblay1

    francoblay1 The Spaniard

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Messages:
    15,038
    Likes Received:
    12,342
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    L´Escala, 17130 Spain
    My Bike(s):
    K9 (2006)
    First Name:
    Franco
    Manual is on its way.

    I am not good at electronics so.... I just went by what everyone else was saying. But definitely you are running it on the highest setting possible!
     
    Tommy Gains and BWG56 like this.
  14. xxcarpxx

    xxcarpxx Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2015
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    112
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Cullman Alabama
    My Bike(s):
    07 BDM Chopper
    Just got the email... Thanks @francoblay1 .... I may need a little tutoring when it comes to adjusting and setting the time...
     
    francoblay1 likes this.
  15. Th3InfamousI

    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    10,934
    Likes Received:
    16,295
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Texas
    My Bike(s):
    04 Ridgeback & 07 K9
    First Name:
    Eric
    Am I reading it wrong? I don't one so not 100% sure, but is it not set to 3 and B? Sure looks that way
     
  16. xxcarpxx

    xxcarpxx Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2015
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    112
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Cullman Alabama
    My Bike(s):
    07 BDM Chopper

    I'm not sure myself... being the reason I lean on advice from all you vets..... it can be deceiving...the "slots" line up with "3 & B"... but at closer look, there is an arrow on the dial pointing to F....
    But as I mentioned earlier, the Dog run great until the EHC fried...
     
  17. francoblay1

    francoblay1 The Spaniard

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Messages:
    15,038
    Likes Received:
    12,342
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    L´Escala, 17130 Spain
    My Bike(s):
    K9 (2006)
    First Name:
    Franco
    I see the arrow pointing at the F .... but hey.... I might be wrong....
     
  18. francoblay1

    francoblay1 The Spaniard

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Messages:
    15,038
    Likes Received:
    12,342
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    L´Escala, 17130 Spain
    My Bike(s):
    K9 (2006)
    First Name:
    Franco
    I see the arrow pointing at the F .... but hey.... I might be wrong.... just checked again, the arrow definitely is pointing down to "F"

    Click on the image to make it bigger.... you will be able to see the fat arrow.... also you will see marks from the screw driver.... they have been playing with it several times for sure!!!

    [​IMG]
     
  19. Th3InfamousI

    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    10,934
    Likes Received:
    16,295
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Texas
    My Bike(s):
    04 Ridgeback & 07 K9
    First Name:
    Eric
    Didn't realize there was an arrow figured the thing was just using the slots. I zoomed in I see it now. Don't know why they just didn't use the flat head slots ..but oh well
     
  20. francoblay1

    francoblay1 The Spaniard

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Messages:
    15,038
    Likes Received:
    12,342
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    L´Escala, 17130 Spain
    My Bike(s):
    K9 (2006)
    First Name:
    Franco
    either way 3 & B are not the same..... Letters have higher Rev Limiter than numbers.
     

Share This Page