Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Sign Up

Still on the hunt for a cable and software for an '07 K9

Discussion in 'Ignition / Electronics / Batteries' started by mainstream01, Sep 29, 2017.

  1. mainstream01

    mainstream01 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2015
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Holts Summit, Missouri
    My Bike(s):
    2007 K-9
    First Name:
    Tim
    I've been looking for a cable and software for the Thunderheart box for, an 07 K9 for awhile. Has anyone found such an animal? More than one set of eyes would help me track down this unicorn..
    Screenshot_2017-09-29-16-47-46.png
     
    #1 mainstream01, Sep 29, 2017
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2017
  2. mainstream01

    mainstream01 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2015
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Holts Summit, Missouri
    My Bike(s):
    2007 K-9
    First Name:
    Tim
    For the Thunderheart box.. Carburetor style..
     
  3. BWG56

    BWG56 Guru

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    21,024
    Likes Received:
    36,985
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    USA
    My Bike(s):
    Big Dog, SpyderF3
    First Name:
    Ker
  4. mainstream01

    mainstream01 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2015
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Holts Summit, Missouri
    My Bike(s):
    2007 K-9
    First Name:
    Tim
    Yep.. I've got the RIP kit and I'm looking for the cable and software that comes with the control module.. My module doesn't have the easy click adjustment, just a port for the cable..
     
  5. Th3InfamousI

    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    10,515
    Likes Received:
    15,382
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Texas
    My Bike(s):
    04 Ridgeback & 07 K9
    First Name:
    Eric
    I don't think thunderheart licenses the software except to dealers it's locked.

    There is a programmable ignition which has 6 or 7 different preset ignition curves. That you can buy from thunderheart directly.

    Just curious why you want to change it anyways?

    Sent from my 2PS64 using Tapatalk
     
  6. mainstream01

    mainstream01 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2015
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Holts Summit, Missouri
    My Bike(s):
    2007 K-9
    First Name:
    Tim
    Unless I buy a whole new control box and the software and the cable is included..
     
  7. BWG56

    BWG56 Guru

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    21,024
    Likes Received:
    36,985
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    USA
    My Bike(s):
    Big Dog, SpyderF3
    First Name:
    Ker
    You need to buy the programmable ignition if you want to change timing n the rev limiter. Or you can write your own also if you have the know how. DOC does have a hopped up program for his bike but you'll have to talk to Jeff
     
  8. mainstream01

    mainstream01 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2015
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Holts Summit, Missouri
    My Bike(s):
    2007 K-9
    First Name:
    Tim
    I'd like to know exactly what the presets are for my module and get real time data log.. My rev limits according to the tach are lower than the 5300 average presets.. I'd also like to know what the advanced timing presets are, because I've had the carbs jetted, adjusted the carb in all manners, bumped up the octane levels. And it still falls on its face for split seconds, and has a semi dead spot between cruising and acceleration.. And it's not the carb pump adjustment either..
     
  9. BWG56

    BWG56 Guru

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    21,024
    Likes Received:
    36,985
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    USA
    My Bike(s):
    Big Dog, SpyderF3
    First Name:
    Ker
    Position Rev Limit RPM
    0 5984
    1 5984
    2 5984
    3 5984
    4 5984
    5 5984
    6 5984
    7 5984
    8 6240
    9 6240
    A 6240
    B 6240
    C 6240
    D 6240
    E 6240
    F 6240
     
  10. mainstream01

    mainstream01 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2015
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Holts Summit, Missouri
    My Bike(s):
    2007 K-9
    First Name:
    Tim
    Which position does it go in again?
    1506727397019959115984.jpg
     
  11. BWG56

    BWG56 Guru

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    21,024
    Likes Received:
    36,985
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    USA
    My Bike(s):
    Big Dog, SpyderF3
    First Name:
    Ker
    You don't have a programmable ignition, but if you did, just turn the white dial to your selection

    [​IMG]
     
  12. HMAN

    HMAN Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    3,690
    Likes Received:
    2,859
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    fk it
    A looong while back I was chatting with Doug of CA Jones, and he said he had a cable, maybe... He wasnt sure IF he could even unlock or change any settings. There were so many "ifs", I figured its easier to just buy a new programmable ignition.
     
  13. mainstream01

    mainstream01 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2015
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Holts Summit, Missouri
    My Bike(s):
    2007 K-9
    First Name:
    Tim
    Why not.. I guess.. it's the only thing electrical left that I haven't replaced..
     
  14. BWG56

    BWG56 Guru

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    21,024
    Likes Received:
    36,985
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    USA
    My Bike(s):
    Big Dog, SpyderF3
    First Name:
    Ker
    If you expecting big gains from changing the program, your in for a let down. The only way to see a difference is if you have it dyno tuned to see the read out.
     
  15. pknowles

    pknowles Getting better by the day...---... GURU
    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,390
    Likes Received:
    6,246
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    virginia
    My Bike(s):
    , 2012 CVO Streetglide, 07k9 MAKIN IT MY OWN
    First Name:
    paul

    I think the latest is you still can't program a locked unit... heavy on the "you".
     
    dentdude36 likes this.
  16. HMAN

    HMAN Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    3,690
    Likes Received:
    2,859
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    fk it
    Are you running the super G? If so, is it the newer or older model? The older ones had a drilled .040 air bleed. The new ones have changeable air bleed jets. My 04 is an older model and will NOT dial in. A Mikuni 48 is on my short list. Jmo
     

Share This Page