Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Sign Up

"Official" battery cranking amp requirement from Big Dog ?

Discussion in 'General' started by Big Willy, Oct 6, 2015.

  1. Big Willy

    Big Willy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    My Bike(s):
    08 K-9
    First Name:
    Willy
    I have searched and read through a lot of threads about batteries, but cannot seem to find this information. I am having trouble with a new HD battery. When I'm home and the K9 is on the tender, all is good. But when I'm on the road and it's not on the tender every night, it drops off and won't turn the bike over. Talking to the local HD dealer, he wants to know... what is the manufacturer's cranking amp requirement? Does anyone know? Thanks in advance.
     
  2. SKOGDOG

    SKOGDOG One of the old ones.
    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,581
    Likes Received:
    2,628
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Pittsburg, Kansas
    My Bike(s):
    2008 K9-2010 Bulldog Bagger
    First Name:
    Rick
    Hey Willy.
    A Harley battery should crank your K9 just fine. That Harley dealer could also do a load test on the battery to determine if it functions properly. And if you read the other threads, you know to get a 10mm wrench and tighten the battery cables and also check the battery ground and starter leads.
    Then get a voltmeter to see how many volts your battery has before you start the bike. It should read 12.5 or so up to 13.8. Then start the bike and the volts should jump up above 14. When you see the running bike puts out more volts (look for 14+) than the sitting battery does, you know the bike is making juice. If the voltage reads the same running and not running, check your circuit breaker. It's a small box attached to your battery box ('passenger' side). You'll find a little plunger about the size of the lead in a lead pencil. If you can dross it and it stays in, you've re-set the breaker and put the charging system back online. Now your voltmeter will read over 14.
    Electrical problems beyond that are over my pay grade, but guaranteed someone else will pipe up---we love this stuff.:oldthumbsup:
    Let us know what happens--we like feedback.
     
    Big Willy, Little-Boo and francoblay1 like this.
  3. francoblay1

    francoblay1 The Spaniard

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Messages:
    15,335
    Likes Received:
    12,567
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    L´Escala, 17130 Spain
    My Bike(s):
    K9 (2006)
    First Name:
    Franco
    210-320 CCA,

    A HD Battery should be just fine.

    Make sure your charging system is working properly.

    And! ALL CONNECTIONS are CLEAN & TIGHT!!! :oldthumbsup:

    Click on the link at the bottom of my Signature Block........... Maintenance is....

    :cheers:
     
  4. kickstart

    kickstart Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,196
    Likes Received:
    1,197
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    TN
    My Bike(s):
    52 Pan,05 Bulldog, 07 K9
    First Name:
    Pat
    If you do have a circuit breaker replace it with a 40 amp fuse.
     
  5. Th3InfamousI

    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    10,702
    Likes Received:
    15,814
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Texas
    My Bike(s):
    04 Ridgeback & 07 K9
    First Name:
    Eric
    210? You high

    Minimum is 320

    Sent from my 831C using Tapatalk
     
    francoblay1 likes this.
  6. Jwooky

    Jwooky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,660
    Likes Received:
    1,271
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Oxford, MI
    My Bike(s):
    2008 Mastiff EFI
    First Name:
    JJ
    Don't agree this is necessary.
     
    cdogg556 likes this.
  7. francoblay1

    francoblay1 The Spaniard

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Messages:
    15,335
    Likes Received:
    12,567
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    L´Escala, 17130 Spain
    My Bike(s):
    K9 (2006)
    First Name:
    Franco
    It was a typo... I meant to say 310 - 320
    :oldthumbsup:
     
    cdogg556 and BWG56 like this.
  8. Th3InfamousI

    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    10,702
    Likes Received:
    15,814
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Texas
    My Bike(s):
    04 Ridgeback & 07 K9
    First Name:
    Eric
    So you were high?

    Sent from my 831C using Tapatalk
     
    BWG56 and francoblay1 like this.
  9. francoblay1

    francoblay1 The Spaniard

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Messages:
    15,335
    Likes Received:
    12,567
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    L´Escala, 17130 Spain
    My Bike(s):
    K9 (2006)
    First Name:
    Franco
    Yes!!! :oldsmile: :oldlaugh:
     
    ssarringar1, HMAN and BWG56 like this.
  10. BWG56

    BWG56 Guru

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    20,861
    Likes Received:
    36,632
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    USA
    My Bike(s):
    Big Dog, SpyderF3
    First Name:
    Ker
    Nice recovery:whoop::oldlaugh:
     
    cdogg556 and francoblay1 like this.
  11. Big Willy

    Big Willy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    My Bike(s):
    08 K-9
    First Name:
    Willy
    Ok. Took battery out, looked for any wires I might have missed... as I can get in a hurry at times. Everything looks ok. Reconnected battery, making sure everything is nice and tight again, as it was before. Ground wire is tight too. Trickle charger says the battery is good to go, and volt meter shows 12.9. Pulled the choke, gave her a little gas and turned it over. She cranks for less than 2 seconds, then starts to click. Not enough juice to get her going. After cranking for 2-3 seconds, now battery shows 12.4 volts. Now it's recharging to try again. Not sure if compression releases are working...?
    I should have mentioned before, I have a Wires Plus system... no ehc.
    Ideas?
     
  12. TapioK

    TapioK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    Messages:
    2,966
    Likes Received:
    4,635
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Naples, FL / Finland
    My Bike(s):
    K9 -08, Chopper -03, Fat Boy (-97), BMW 1150GS -95
    First Name:
    Tapio
    Why don't you just try with an other battery? Like the one you have in your car, if using jumper cables do not run the car engine! Maybe the battery is bad...


    Tapio
     
    BWG56 likes this.
  13. Big Willy

    Big Willy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    My Bike(s):
    08 K-9
    First Name:
    Willy
    Yep. Started right up when I jumped it off the car. When running at idle, volt meter shows 13.7. So I'm thinking the charging system is working properly. Maybe a bad cell in the battery..?
     
  14. BWG56

    BWG56 Guru

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    20,861
    Likes Received:
    36,632
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    USA
    My Bike(s):
    Big Dog, SpyderF3
    First Name:
    Ker
    Sure does point at the battery, nice one Tapiok:old2:
     
    francoblay1 and cdogg556 like this.
  15. SKOGDOG

    SKOGDOG One of the old ones.
    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,581
    Likes Received:
    2,628
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Pittsburg, Kansas
    My Bike(s):
    2008 K9-2010 Bulldog Bagger
    First Name:
    Rick
    Agreed. I'm no expert by any means, but the drop in voltage after a couple of seconds cranking sure makes me think battery. You can take it to any store or back to the HD dealership,and get it load tested. I managed to short out my starter motor on the way home from Sturgis. I thought it might have been the battery, so I tried a new one and it started the bike. Next stop it wouldn't start....got it home to find the starter was broken and pulled waaaay too many amps. Brand new battery would work, but just barely. Do you have the expertise to use a voltmeter to see what happens to the battery voltage when you try to start it?
    To see if your comp releases are behaving, just put your finger on top of the plastic cover and bump the starter. You'll feel them depress.
     
  16. Big Willy

    Big Willy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    My Bike(s):
    08 K-9
    First Name:
    Willy
    Ok. I'll check them. Thanks.
    I'll get the battery back to HD over the next several days. Appreciate the help guys.
     
  17. Brew

    Brew Troop Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    12,810
    Likes Received:
    2,499
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Washington State
    My Bike(s):
    08 Mastiff / 09 Softail Deluxe
    First Name:
    Rob
    Here's the part number you need if you buy a battery from Harley 65989-97C. I'd suggest that you put the new battery on a tender for at least 12 hours before use to make sure it's fully up and charged...
     
    cdogg556 likes this.
  18. Big Willy

    Big Willy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    My Bike(s):
    08 K-9
    First Name:
    Willy
    Thanks Brew. Yes, that is the battery that I have in the bike. Yanked it out this morning and took to Auto Zone. According to their tester, it is BAD. So, after pulling my hair out and worrying about all the possible things that COULD be wrong, it looks like it's just a bad battery from HD.
     
    Brew, BWG56, TapioK and 1 other person like this.
  19. Th3InfamousI

    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    10,702
    Likes Received:
    15,814
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Texas
    My Bike(s):
    04 Ridgeback & 07 K9
    First Name:
    Eric
    Not the first one and won't be last .....

    Sent from my 831C using Tapatalk
     
    Brew likes this.
  20. francoblay1

    francoblay1 The Spaniard

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Messages:
    15,335
    Likes Received:
    12,567
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    L´Escala, 17130 Spain
    My Bike(s):
    K9 (2006)
    First Name:
    Franco
    You need one of these kits.... they are awesome! :old2:

    Charges Phones/Tablets with 2A USB Output
    • 200CCA Constant - 400CCA Max
    • Cables & Adapters Included: 12V Mini Jumper Clamps, Universal USB Cable w/3 Cellular Tips
    And its pocket size.

    [​IMG]
     
    TapioK and Nukeranger like this.

Share This Page