Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Sign Up

No spark in the front jug

Discussion in 'Technical' started by jokester, Mar 5, 2018.

  1. jokester

    jokester Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2015
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    364
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Statesville, North Carolina
    My Bike(s):
    1 bad K9
    First Name:
    paul
    My 08 K9 decided to misfire during a ride which ended up being no spark in the front jug we've replaced the coil then there was a bad spot in the twin Tec ignition wire so they changed it out and I still have no spark in the front jug the reason they're doing the work is because it was convenient for the breakdown so they're scratching their head a little bit any information would be helpful
    One big question I have that a lot of guys can't answer is why do I have to ignitions on that bike twin Tech and a Thunderheart under the seat
     
  2. Th3InfamousI

    Supporting Member Full Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    10,797
    Likes Received:
    15,975
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Texas
    My Bike(s):
    04 Ridgeback & 07 K9
    First Name:
    Eric
    Probably have two ignitions cause whoever put the twintec in was too lazy to take the old one out.

    Have they confirmed if the front jug now actually is getting a spark? Cause that would be the first thing I'd be confirming to make sure there isn't another wiring issue.

    Sent from my 2PS64 using Tapatalk
     
    jokester likes this.
  3. jokester

    jokester Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2015
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    364
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Statesville, North Carolina
    My Bike(s):
    1 bad K9
    First Name:
    paul
    So just to be clear the bike does Not have two ignitions? It has been rewired with "wires Plus " to eliminate the stock EHC. Would the old ignition be considered a relay then , if left behind for some reason?
     
    #3 jokester, Mar 6, 2018
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2018
  4. Th3InfamousI

    Supporting Member Full Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    10,797
    Likes Received:
    15,975
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Texas
    My Bike(s):
    04 Ridgeback & 07 K9
    First Name:
    Eric
    Nope...no reason for it to even how power if you have the twin Tec now in the nose cone. I'd be willing to bet it doesn't even turn on because someone would have had to splice in power to it via the WP, which would have been really idiotic but it just adds a wiring mess.

    Your tech should be able to check power in and out of the ignition under the seat and once everything is confirmed that it's not doing anything they should be able to remove it along with all the wires.

    Cleaning it up should help track down the issue which Im willing to bet is a bad wire somewhere unless you have no compression in the front jug..haha



    Sent from my 2PS64 using Tapatalk
     
  5. jokester

    jokester Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2015
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    364
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Statesville, North Carolina
    My Bike(s):
    1 bad K9
    First Name:
    paul
    Thanks for the info, livin and learnin.!
     

Share This Page