Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Sign Up

Lost Clutch (I think)

Discussion in 'Technical' started by Iowachopper, Oct 17, 2017.

  1. BWG56

    BWG56 You all know I'm a liar

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    20,867
    Likes Received:
    36,639
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    USA
    My Bike(s):
    Big Dog, SpyderF3
    First Name:
    Ker
    Why do you have the clutch push rod in before you have the clutch and pressure plate assembly together?

    Maybe you should wait for curtits.
     
    dentdude36 likes this.
  2. Iowachopper

    Iowachopper Member
    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2017
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    140
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids
    My Bike(s):
    2005 Big Dog Chopper
    First Name:
    Mike
    Let me try and clarify, without the throw out bearing installed I broke the bolt. I assumed this was because it the throw out bearing was not pushing against the push rod so it allowed me to bottom out the pivot bolts. I took it apart, removed the broken bolt and re-assembled it without the push rod. I installed the Throw out bearing and finger tightened the pivot bolts. Installed the pushrod and then tightened the pivot bolts down to 10 ft pounds. I guess I don't understand why it broke off to begin with. When I took it apart it was bottomed out. Curtis said 20ft pounds for the bolts.
     
  3. Iowachopper

    Iowachopper Member
    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2017
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    140
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids
    My Bike(s):
    2005 Big Dog Chopper
    First Name:
    Mike
    Sure do, I think I have selectively memorized what I wanted to know. Going back now to re-read the rest.
     
  4. BWG56

    BWG56 You all know I'm a liar

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    20,867
    Likes Received:
    36,639
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    USA
    My Bike(s):
    Big Dog, SpyderF3
    First Name:
    Ker
    Back off the push rod, pull it out, then tighten the bolts, then set the push rod according to the manual, snug to throw out bearing and then back off 1/4 turn according to manual.
     
  5. Iowachopper

    Iowachopper Member
    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2017
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    140
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids
    My Bike(s):
    2005 Big Dog Chopper
    First Name:
    Mike
    I did read all of Chapter 4, I assumed given the age of the manual I guess everybody had figured out a torque spec but it seems there isn't one and the clutch diaphram needs to be measured. Is that accurate? Which would make sense given everything I did/didn't do. I did use red loctite on the clutch hub nut and did clean the threads and torque to 160ft points. Also used blue Loctite on the rest.
     
  6. Iowachopper

    Iowachopper Member
    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2017
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    140
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids
    My Bike(s):
    2005 Big Dog Chopper
    First Name:
    Mike
    Funny what makes sense when you alone in the garage until you start to type it out and read what your typing....
     
    pknowles likes this.
  7. Th3InfamousI

    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    10,643
    Likes Received:
    15,660
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Texas
    My Bike(s):
    04 Ridgeback & 07 K9
    First Name:
    Eric
    Thought there was a torque spec on those? 20ftlbs? Is coming to mind.

    Yep looks like 20 is right
    [​IMG]

    Sent from my 2PS64 using Tapatalk
     
  8. Iowachopper

    Iowachopper Member
    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2017
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    140
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids
    My Bike(s):
    2005 Big Dog Chopper
    First Name:
    Mike

    I sure feel like I'm missing something here. I have an '05 Chopper, that manual says to go by measured height and not torque. When I initially received the clutch assembly I did do 20ft pounds and it felt like I was going to tight so I backed off to 15 and before I got to that it snapped. I pulled it all apart and the pivot bolt had threaded correctly through the flanged hub and bottomed out on the carrier bearing. The pivot bolts are the same length as the ones from my old clutch. I am beginning to wonder if my harbor freight toque wrench is not accurate. I stopped tightening the pivot bolts this time at 10 pounds to re-group. The clutch assemble I have is a brand new complete assembly from Baker. I may also just call them tomorrow. I've read the forum upside down and back and all I can think is either the chopper is different (Which I've read nowhere) or maybe its the torque wrench. I have another one I might compare the 2. Thanks again for everybody's input, I have to admit its a little frustrating given my lack of knowledge but the forum sure makes its easier.
     
  9. Srodden

    Srodden Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1,630
    Likes Received:
    1,068
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Flint, Michigan
    My Bike(s):
    2011 mastiff, 2013 deluxe
    First Name:
    Scott
    I have a 2011 Mastiff I bought brand new. The bike had a creep from day one. I tried everything I could to fix it. I finally just bought a new clutch and pressure plate from energy one. This fixed my issue
     
  10. BWG56

    BWG56 You all know I'm a liar

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    20,867
    Likes Received:
    36,639
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    USA
    My Bike(s):
    Big Dog, SpyderF3
    First Name:
    Ker
    Did you use the 9 or 12 disc?
     
  11. Srodden

    Srodden Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1,630
    Likes Received:
    1,068
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Flint, Michigan
    My Bike(s):
    2011 mastiff, 2013 deluxe
    First Name:
    Scott
    Pretty sure was 12. I can find neutral now also.
     
  12. Srodden

    Srodden Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1,630
    Likes Received:
    1,068
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Flint, Michigan
    My Bike(s):
    2011 mastiff, 2013 deluxe
    First Name:
    Scott
    99CE1CBE-D6E6-407D-88A5-562500C599F4.jpeg My mistake it was 9 plate
     
    BWG56 likes this.
  13. Th3InfamousI

    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    10,643
    Likes Received:
    15,660
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Texas
    My Bike(s):
    04 Ridgeback & 07 K9
    First Name:
    Eric
    The 12 plate is funny..the problem with the 12 plate is the steels are so thin they will wear, and why BD went to 9 later on. I have the 12 plate also and spoke to energy one and they shipped me a few thicker steels to use and that brought my stack height back up. Now it shifts like a dream.

    Sent from my 2PS64 using Tapatalk
     
    chubs and Srodden like this.
  14. Iowachopper

    Iowachopper Member
    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2017
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    140
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids
    My Bike(s):
    2005 Big Dog Chopper
    First Name:
    Mike
    Well after all that BS it was my torque wrench. Don't buy from Harbor Freight, not sure what it was tightening to but it was WAY past 20ft pounds. I borrowed a buddies snap on and it hit 20 ft pounds pretty quick on a newly inserted bolt. On the 3 remaining bolts I put the torque wrench to 240 inch pounds (max) and they were tighter than that. That is what the HF tool said was 10!
     
  15. Th3InfamousI

    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    10,643
    Likes Received:
    15,660
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Texas
    My Bike(s):
    04 Ridgeback & 07 K9
    First Name:
    Eric
    Never had problems with my HF torque wrenches....

    Although I heard about a guy at work who used the NM side instead of the FT lb side and that will ruin your day. And he broke a head bolt ha

    Sent from my 2PS64 using Tapatalk
     
  16. Iowachopper

    Iowachopper Member
    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2017
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    140
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids
    My Bike(s):
    2005 Big Dog Chopper
    First Name:
    Mike
    Well not bashing them by no means. I was on the FT lbs side thank god! While scratching my head I went to the HF website and read the reviews. Lots of broken bolts. Just my experience.
     
  17. Iowachopper

    Iowachopper Member
    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2017
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    140
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids
    My Bike(s):
    2005 Big Dog Chopper
    First Name:
    Mike
    Good to know!
     
  18. Iowachopper

    Iowachopper Member
    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2017
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    140
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids
    My Bike(s):
    2005 Big Dog Chopper
    First Name:
    Mike
    Well with an accurate torque wrench all is good. Everything is installed and working great. Thanks for all the help!
     
    BWG56 likes this.
  19. BWG56

    BWG56 You all know I'm a liar

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    20,867
    Likes Received:
    36,639
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    USA
    My Bike(s):
    Big Dog, SpyderF3
    First Name:
    Ker
    Good to hear, thanks for the update:old2:
     
    dentdude36 and Iowachopper like this.
  20. Steve2134

    Steve2134 Member
    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2016
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    13
    Location:
    Madison, Ohio
    My Bike(s):
    07 Mastiff
    First Name:
    Steveo
    I did not know this. Looks like I’ll be getting a new push rod.
     

Share This Page