Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Sign Up

Installing the Dakota Digital Speedometer

Discussion in 'How-To' started by Raywood, May 7, 2010.

  1. Can-Dog1

    Can-Dog1 Rob

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    498
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Brockville, ON. Canada
    My Bike(s):
    2004 Mastiff
    First Name:
    Rob
    I bought one of the Speedo's that Mad Dog is selling. Really, really nice upgrade for sure!
     
    chubs likes this.
  2. scubaman15

    scubaman15 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,861
    Likes Received:
    60
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    New Kent Virginia
    My Bike(s):
    2007 BDM Chopper- 2007 HD CVO
    Ray I read your post and ..great job as always , question , you stated that you did not do the speedo cal? did you find you did not need too ? Was the cal spot on? ..I just put the unit on the 07 chop and it looks good the setting of the mileage was easy ... I won't get out to test it till Saturday but I would like all that installed this DD unit to report on how spot on the cal was from factory ..???
     
    chubs likes this.
  3. Shane

    Shane Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Messages:
    568
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So Cal
    My Bike(s):
    05 Ridgeback.. Harleys...
    Mine was within 2 mph of my Dad on the Road Glide riding side by side....I left it.....
     
    chubs likes this.
  4. Mad Dog

    Mad Dog ValueTeck Enterprises
    Supporting Business

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Messages:
    7,747
    Likes Received:
    53
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Alden, New York
    First Name:
    Don
    Most have reported that you just install it and your good to go.:2thumbs:
     
    chubs likes this.
  5. Raywood

    Raywood The Pirate
    Staff Member Supporting Member Calendar Participant

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    17,380
    Likes Received:
    688
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Rainbow, CA
    My Bike(s):
    2014 KMW Regulator
    First Name:
    Ray
    I compared mine readings to the three HD's I rode down to the Redwood Run with and we were all real close. Funny though cause when I first got it the readout is big and I couldn't/wouldn't believe that it was right but it was.

    I tested it on the freeway with one of the "speedo check" markings with the 5 mile run. It was off about 2/10ths at the end of the 5 mile run but that was an unofficial test.

    Plug and play for sure. Kudo's to Don for doing this group buy for us. :2thumbs:
     
    chubs likes this.
  6. stinger1

    stinger1 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    london england
    My Bike(s):
    2005 bulldog - 69 camaro
    First Name:
    micky
    Great revue Ray, was thinking of ordering 1 last year but thought i might still have the niggly fogging prob. But you guys have convinced me otherwise, an order will be soon...
     
    chubs likes this.
  7. AJ SMOOTH

    AJ SMOOTH Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    My Bike(s):
    2006 K-9
    Ray excellent Post! I e-mailed Big Dog and asked if this would be a recall on the Speedo's and I got no response. This is after spoke to Doug (Big Dog customer rep) who advised me that Big Dog does not have any speedo's in stock and they have approx. 30 (that's what he told me) on back order from the manufacturer. When he said that, it blew my mind that Big Dog does not stock this item. I am figuring that this has been a continuous problem with the speedo's, Big Dog should step up and recall the speedo's and replace them with a digial one as like Dakoda. I have a stocked Speedo on order, and hope that the style is changed, WE WILL SEE!.
     
    chubs likes this.
  8. Raywood

    Raywood The Pirate
    Staff Member Supporting Member Calendar Participant

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    17,380
    Likes Received:
    688
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Rainbow, CA
    My Bike(s):
    2014 KMW Regulator
    First Name:
    Ray
    AJ, I've been through 10 of the Autometers. You really should consider the DD as you'll just have the same issues with another Autometer. They suffer from weak start ups and fogging as well as other issues. The DD unit isn't anymore expensive and really works well.

    :cheers:
     
    Pops likes this.
  9. Five Five

    Five Five Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,003
    Likes Received:
    193
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Southern California, The 714,
    My Bike(s):
    2003 pit bull (sold) & 2006 K-9 (bought)
    First Name:
    Bill
    Ray...good Job...
    hit you with a little "Rep Power"
     
  10. Wild Woody

    Wild Woody Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas Texas
    My Bike(s):
    2006 K9
    First Name:
    Woody
    Mad Dog I just ordered a Blue Dakota Digital for my 06 K9 ! Thanks :cheers:
     
  11. BigDogrunner31

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Fort Myers Florida
    My Bike(s):
    2009 K9
    First Name:
    John
    Great post i Just got threww putting my DD speedo in my 09 K-9 the post was completly a great help
     
  12. Gatordog

    Gatordog New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    My Bike(s):
    2001 BDM Wolf
    Dose anyone know if the DD speedo will fit my stock inst. panel on my 2001 Wolf?
    All your posts are great, keep up the good work. John
     
    chubs likes this.
  13. Mad Dog

    Mad Dog ValueTeck Enterprises
    Supporting Business

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Messages:
    7,747
    Likes Received:
    53
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Alden, New York
    First Name:
    Don
    No the BD140 will not fit. Here is a link to the speedometer that I believe will work. Check and see if the measurements match. If so I can call Dakota and get you a price.
    Thanks,
    Don
    Round Performance Speed/Tach with Indicators
     
  14. GDOG_PITBULL

    GDOG_PITBULL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,589
    Likes Received:
    95
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    In the stix, SC
    My Bike(s):
    2004 BD Chopper
    Don,
    PM sent...thanks
    G
     
  15. Mr4500dodge

    Mr4500dodge Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Graham NC
    My Bike(s):
    08 Pitbull
    First Name:
    Derrick
    DD speedo

    Great posts. I too just installed a Dakota digital speedo. Thing is great. No more fogging and the readout is clear and precise. Also matches my bike (Blue Heaven) very nicely. Does anybody know how the auto dimming feature works? Can't seem to tell a difference and would like to tone it down a little.
     

    Attached Files:

  16. Mad Dog

    Mad Dog ValueTeck Enterprises
    Supporting Business

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Messages:
    7,747
    Likes Received:
    53
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Alden, New York
    First Name:
    Don
    Not sure if there is an adjustment on that. Give Dakota a call.
    Part of my relationship with them is they answer all technical questions.
    1-800-593-4160
    I have a new lower price this year.
    Here is the link to the Group Buy Page.

    http://valuetec.startlogic.com//page12.html
     
  17. Rack

    Rack New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Bike(s):
    None
    Note to self: Check the forums before making any future purchases.

    I just bought a DD speedo direct from their site. Didn't know about the Group Buy. :bang:
     
  18. okie_dog

    okie_dog Guest

    it says during the first 100 miles you will have the chance to set the miles. is it something I do myself or do I have to send it somewhere?
     
  19. Mr4500dodge

    Mr4500dodge Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Graham NC
    My Bike(s):
    08 Pitbull
    First Name:
    Derrick
    Cody, this is something you do yourself. You have 2 options (leave it on auto calibrate which is pretty damn close, or set yourself by running a predetermined distance and matching it.) Hold the button down on the speedo while turning the key on and it will get you into the setup mode. Be carefull because you only get one shot to do it just like inputing your odometer. Read, read and read first!!!!
     
  20. okie_dog

    okie_dog Guest

    oh ok, so you can calibrate the speedo then is what it sounds like, that's good to know to. I was actually meaning the odometer but said the wrong thing, so can I also set the odometer myself to match my bikes actual miles then?
     

Share This Page