Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Help Please! Bike shutting down!

Discussion in 'Help Wanted' started by KROGOTH, Aug 25, 2011.

1. KROGOTH

KROGOTH Active Member

Ok...At high revs bike stays on. As soon as I throttle back it starts to misfire
    and then shuts down. Hard to start too! A mechanic told me it is a lose wire
    somewhere that is causing this. What are your thoughts all?? Is this an EHC issue? The bike stays on no problem when I have throttle revved up. Only when I let go does it misfire and then shut down!:bang::bang:

2. LARS

LARS sippin & cruzin

My Bike(s):
    02 WOLF
    Maybe a jet of injector slightly clogged,try seafoam?,,I'm not an expert but it's a simple try.

3. bryant1609

bryant1609 Active Member

My Bike(s):
    2008 Ridgeback
    Have you check to see if the enricher is in the on position? Have you changed anything on the Carb before this starting happening?

4. KROGOTH

KROGOTH Active Member

Thanks all for the feedback. No nothing was changed prior to this. And the enricher I never use. And yes I checked to make sure it was not pulled.

5. bigdogtech01

bigdogtech01 Well-Known Member

My Bike(s):
    '06 Roadstar Warrior, '04 KTM 450 Super Moto
    First Name:
    Andrew
    Did you check for an intake leak? Might not be electrical, could be fuel/air related. Easy to check.

6. KROGOTH

KROGOTH Active Member

How do I check for an air intake leak?

7. bigdogtech01

My Bike(s):
    First Name:
    Andrew
    With the motor warmed up and running at idle, spray the intake seal area near head with brake/parts cleaner. Make sure you spray from intake side pointing it towards primary side. Spray just a small amount directly onto intake seal area. If the motor dies down, changes at all in RPM then you have bad intake seals. Make sure you spray both front and rear cyls.

8. bigdogtech01

My Bike(s):
    First Name:
    Andrew