Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Sign Up

EHC dead or can I bypass it?

Discussion in 'Ignition / Electronics / Batteries' started by Big_B, Jun 1, 2017.

  1. Big_B

    Big_B New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Centennial CO
    My Bike(s):
    08 K-9 & 03 Redneck
    First Name:
    Brent
    Had an issue riding home last night where ground connection on battery came loose and got VERY hot, bike lost power and died. Replaced battery and cleaned all connections, turns over great and lights working, but no lights on the module by the EHC at all, and no spark. Its an 08 K9 with replacement EHC I swapped out a few years ago, got it from Kansas Motorcycle Works. I really need this bike running by Saturday night. Any advice is greatly appreciated.
     
    chubs likes this.
  2. dentdude36

    dentdude36 Guru

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    Messages:
    8,426
    Likes Received:
    19,421
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Suburbs of Buffalo NY
    My Bike(s):
    2007 K9
    First Name:
    Kevin
    Check your circuit breaker under the seat to see if it needs reset
     
    francoblay1 and chubs like this.
  3. Big_B

    Big_B New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Centennial CO
    My Bike(s):
    08 K-9 & 03 Redneck
    First Name:
    Brent
    What does the breaker look like and how do I reset? Terrible question I know but I don't remember seeing anything that looked like a breaker. Thank you!
     
    chubs likes this.
  4. dentdude36

    dentdude36 Guru

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    Messages:
    8,426
    Likes Received:
    19,421
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Suburbs of Buffalo NY
    My Bike(s):
    2007 K9
    First Name:
    Kevin
    Plastic breaker under the seat mounted in battery box it will have a reset button on the side of it
     
    chubs likes this.
  5. dentdude36

    dentdude36 Guru

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    Messages:
    8,426
    Likes Received:
    19,421
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Suburbs of Buffalo NY
    My Bike(s):
    2007 K9
    First Name:
    Kevin
    IMG_2316.JPG
     
    chubs, SKOGDOG and BWG56 like this.
  6. Big_B

    Big_B New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Centennial CO
    My Bike(s):
    08 K-9 & 03 Redneck
    First Name:
    Brent
    Found it and reset it, but no go. I did notice now that when I first turn on the key the neutral light and tach lights flicker for just a millisecond and then go out. Starter still cranks over though.
     
    chubs likes this.
  7. dentdude36

    dentdude36 Guru

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    Messages:
    8,426
    Likes Received:
    19,421
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Suburbs of Buffalo NY
    My Bike(s):
    2007 K9
    First Name:
    Kevin
    If circuit breaker was tripped you may have fried the ehc if and when you replace the ehc( I highly recommend axels replacement) do yourself a favor and get the circuit breaker out and replace with 30 amp inline fuse from donna and Derek

    https://www.ebay.com/itm/263004790514
     
    chubs likes this.
  8. Big_B

    Big_B New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Centennial CO
    My Bike(s):
    08 K-9 & 03 Redneck
    First Name:
    Brent
    Circuit breaker reset did not seem to make any difference in behavior of electrical system issue. Thank you though!
     
    chubs likes this.
  9. Coolbreezin

    Coolbreezin Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    622
    Likes Received:
    436
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Northeast FL
    My Bike(s):
    05 Ridgeback
    First Name:
    Pete
    Just out of curiosity, can the bike be operated without the ehc? Im sure it can, but what other changes would be needed if he opted to go that route?
     
    chubs likes this.
  10. dentdude36

    dentdude36 Guru

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    Messages:
    8,426
    Likes Received:
    19,421
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Suburbs of Buffalo NY
    My Bike(s):
    2007 K9
    First Name:
    Kevin
    The ehc controls just about everything
     
    chubs likes this.
  11. Big_B

    Big_B New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Centennial CO
    My Bike(s):
    08 K-9 & 03 Redneck
    First Name:
    Brent
    Well crap. I had hoped a dead EHC would be more of a completed electrical system failure and this was something different.
     
    chubs likes this.
  12. BadDawg Bill

    BadDawg Bill Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,768
    Likes Received:
    6,757
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Deltona fl
    My Bike(s):
    2008 Softail dexuxe customized
    First Name:
    Deplorable BadDawg Bill
    I may be WAY off base here since I don't know much about BD wiring but doesn't the thunderheart box control the spark? If so, see if it has power. If not hot wire it and see if it starts....
     
    Rottweiler and chubs like this.
  13. bigkelk9

    bigkelk9 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2015
    Messages:
    2,979
    Likes Received:
    5,350
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Southeast Texas / Southern California
    My Bike(s):
    07 big dog k9
    First Name:
    Kel
    Just so u know if u change it to hardwired system which is hands down more reliable, u will have to change ur controls to Harley style controls because them circuit boards for your bdm controls will not run off of a hardwire harness
     
  14. bigkelk9

    bigkelk9 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2015
    Messages:
    2,979
    Likes Received:
    5,350
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Southeast Texas / Southern California
    My Bike(s):
    07 big dog k9
    First Name:
    Kel
    My bike is hardwired and well worth the trouble time and effort.. it's all a matter of opinion. I prefer this because it's simple and easier to diagnose. Jmo. Good luck is which ever way you go
     
    #14 bigkelk9, Jun 2, 2017
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2017
    BadDawg Bill, chubs and speedball jr. like this.
  15. BadDawg Bill

    BadDawg Bill Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,768
    Likes Received:
    6,757
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Deltona fl
    My Bike(s):
    2008 Softail dexuxe customized
    First Name:
    Deplorable BadDawg Bill
    The cost to old school it is around $600 - $700 depending on handlebars and controls. I spent $620 total and it took around 8hrs to do it with beer breaks. The standard Harley controls don't look near as good as the BD ones but parts are way cheaper and easy to get. I got bars that were just like the BD bars for $180 that fit the Harley controls or you could add an extension to your stock bars with a 1" insert. The controls will cover the insert up. You can also buy custom controls that look great but then you will double the price of the install.

    Either way as others have said it's well worth it and any shop can work on it and fix it. Once you take the time to do it yourself you will know more about your bike and enjoy it more without all the electrical problems.
     
  16. bigkelk9

    bigkelk9 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2015
    Messages:
    2,979
    Likes Received:
    5,350
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Southeast Texas / Southern California
    My Bike(s):
    07 big dog k9
    First Name:
    Kel
    This is my setup.. I think these vintage controls look a lot better then oem bdm.. jmo.. but I don't like being like everyone else as to why I have a BIG DOG and as to why it's as unique as it is.. just me.. but to each their own.. and yes hard wiring is the best way to go in my opinion.. 20160908_143717.png
     
  17. Big_B

    Big_B New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Centennial CO
    My Bike(s):
    08 K-9 & 03 Redneck
    First Name:
    Brent
    Sold! I will old school wire it myself. Anyone have a good guide for doing so? Will PM Controls work as well? I have them on a different bike and love em.
     
    BadDawg Bill and chubs like this.
  18. bigkelk9

    bigkelk9 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2015
    Messages:
    2,979
    Likes Received:
    5,350
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Southeast Texas / Southern California
    My Bike(s):
    07 big dog k9
    First Name:
    Kel
    Don't know what pm controls arr.. but basically any controls that are independent and are either momentary or on off (i.e.open/ closed) should work just fine
     
    chubs likes this.
  19. Big_B

    Big_B New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Centennial CO
    My Bike(s):
    08 K-9 & 03 Redneck
    First Name:
    Brent
    Sorry - Performance Machine controls. They a very slim and look clean, not round or bulky like a lot of Harley controls.
     
    bigkelk9 and chubs like this.
  20. bigkelk9

    bigkelk9 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2015
    Messages:
    2,979
    Likes Received:
    5,350
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Southeast Texas / Southern California
    My Bike(s):
    07 big dog k9
    First Name:
    Kel
    I seen a big bear with some of those yesterday as a matter of a fact.. very good looking.. and big bears are hard wired.. at least the model I saw was..
     
    chubs likes this.

Share This Page