Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Sign Up

2005 Big dog chopper rewire

Discussion in 'Technical' started by clay5769, Jun 25, 2015.

  1. clay5769

    clay5769 Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2013
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    fl
    My Bike(s):
    2005 bigdog chopper... 2010 Ural
    First Name:
    Clayton
    Big dog rewire For those interested here is what it cost me minus tape solder heat shrink that type stuff..... Took me about 3 weeks worKing off and on as I got parts... I will try post pictures asp

    Handlebars with switches complete minus grips and throttle wired and ready to go $299 eBay

    Aftermarket wiring harness $160 eBay

    Ignition module wild steed $205

    Coil $60. j&P

    Crank sensor software and cable $180 wild steed

    Tachometer and adaptor. Ebay $90

    Mini dash with lights $60. Ebay

    Electric speedo $80. Ebay

    Ignition switch amazon $13

    30 amp breakers $15. Amazon

    Throttle and cables amazon $100

    Brake banjo adator to master cyclinder 12mm x 3 male. $9 amazon

    Headlight complete $43 Amazon

    Front and rear turn signals J&P cycles $80

    These prices are approximate Some free shipping others not so I rounded up ... Plus I sold all the old parts to a nice guy on eBay $355




    A lillte FYI. Rember to wire the engine compression release... I wired it to starter system so when you crank it they work....


    Some of this may not apply to each person and bike ..... Runs like a champ speedo and tach work have not had a chance to see how accurate They are.....
     
    #1 clay5769, Jun 25, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2015
    chubs likes this.
  2. BBChopper

    BBChopper Supports 2 Disabled Vets
    Troop Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    17,482
    Likes Received:
    1,312
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Fellsmere Fl,
    My Bike(s):
    2005 BDM Choppa "Wild Fire", 2011 Electra Glide Ultra Limited "Swamp Rat"
    First Name:
    Pablo
    Why change the headlight, turn signals, coil ETC? Hand controls bars yeah but shit Hows the frame?
     
    BadDawg Bill and chubs like this.
  3. clay5769

    clay5769 Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2013
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    fl
    My Bike(s):
    2005 bigdog chopper... 2010 Ural
    First Name:
    Clayton
    Headlight burned out and I wanted all new Electronics ... Got sick of it not starting or just shutting off going down the road.... Tired of the tach going crazy ... All the normal big dog issues
     
    chubs and Rottweiler like this.
  4. BadDawg Bill

    BadDawg Bill Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,595
    Likes Received:
    6,203
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Deltona fl
    My Bike(s):
    2008 Softail dexuxe customized
    First Name:
    Deplorable BadDawg Bill
    Yep.... The only thing I would have done different is put in a Crane Ign. Good job!
     
    chubs and Rottweiler like this.
  5. Th3InfamousI

    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    10,542
    Likes Received:
    15,441
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Texas
    My Bike(s):
    04 Ridgeback & 07 K9
    First Name:
    Eric
    Won't work on an 05 they use crank position sensors not cam
     
    chubs likes this.
  6. jokester

    jokester Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2015
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    363
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Statesville, North Carolina
    My Bike(s):
    1 bad K9
    First Name:
    paul
    Big Dog Harness Modification for Wire Plus EHC Retrofit Kit Installation

    For years Big Dog Motorcycles have been plagued with electrical problems that have cost riders tons of time and money....not to mention owning a bike that can't be ridden. The Wire Plus Big Dog EHC Retrofit Kit was developed as a solution to the problem that the Big Dog Motorcycle had an inevitable failing EHC.

    It can take 8-12 hours to modify an existing Big Dog wiring harness to complete a retrofit kit install...until now! With the Wire Plus Harness Modification Service you simply remove the stock Big Dog wiring harness and ship it to us so we can do the work for you. We will visually inspect each individual wire, eliminate the "printer style" connectors that are exclusive to Big Dog, put on new waterproof Deutsch connectors that will make the harness "plug and play" ready for the Wire Plus EHC Retrofit Kit modules (SOLD SEPERATELY). We will give it one more thorough inspection, bench test it to ensure that it's perfect and ship it back to you. The average time it takes to modify a complete harness is reduced to ZERO and there's no more wondering if your harness is modified correctly because Wire Plus did the work for you.

    had my k9 done two months ago (600 miles),,, doin great so far. fixed the crazy tach,blinking lights,back firing at start up,horn,and it starts:D
     
    chubs and Rottweiler like this.
  7. BadDawg Bill

    BadDawg Bill Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,595
    Likes Received:
    6,203
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Deltona fl
    My Bike(s):
    2008 Softail dexuxe customized
    First Name:
    Deplorable BadDawg Bill
    Ya,Ya, Ya. My WP lasted 200 miles. The so called "tech" support was no help. All you are doing is swapping one problem for another and paying big bucks to do it..... WP had their chance and they blew it.. Old school wire it and ride.
     
    speedball jr. and chubs like this.
  8. jokester

    jokester Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2015
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    363
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Statesville, North Carolina
    My Bike(s):
    1 bad K9
    First Name:
    paul
    like i said so far so good. kendall johnson installed it and yup it wasnt cheep... my dog is 'runnin' with lights and has lost no value or working buttons. Shoot, my k9 is worth more now cause its ehc is fixed. WE shall see,
     
    chubs likes this.
  9. Coolbreezin

    Coolbreezin Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    625
    Likes Received:
    440
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Northeast FL
    My Bike(s):
    05 Ridgeback
    First Name:
    Pete
    Im at a point now where I may need to change my ehc. My mechanic says he sees no light on the ehc when he turns the key and presses the run button. The motor will spin over, no spark though. Crank sensor has already been replaced.
    My real question is should I have a WP or RIP installed or just rewire the bike so I have the usual legal lights? I read on here that the ehc is really just there to store warranty info for download and to control the speedo. Id rather rewire and get a different speedo unit. I need some guidance here please. Thank you.
     
    chubs and Rottweiler like this.
  10. MossBerg590

    MossBerg590 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2014
    Messages:
    616
    Likes Received:
    568
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Location:
    Arizona
    My Bike(s):
    06 Big Dog Ridgeback
    First Name:
    Tyler
    Seems wires plus isn't a way to go anymore, rip kit is expensive but easiest. You can wire the thunder heart yourself for half the cost or you can do basic old school Harley re wire with no computer but you have to change the bars and controls so it can get expensive but probably most reliable in the long run.
     
    chubs and BadDawg Bill like this.
  11. jokester

    jokester Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2015
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    363
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Statesville, North Carolina
    My Bike(s):
    1 bad K9
    First Name:
    paul
    i gave good money so i can give a good ass chewin when it dont work!!!!! i went with what they suggested, i had no prefrence. I do wish i changed the tack at the same time, im gunna have to face that bullet soon i think
     
    chubs likes this.
  12. Coolbreezin

    Coolbreezin Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    625
    Likes Received:
    440
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Northeast FL
    My Bike(s):
    05 Ridgeback
    First Name:
    Pete
    Why do I need to change the bars at the same time as the rewire? My plan is to move the control buttons off the bars eventually. If I rewire now I can install new buttons elsewhere on the bike. Leave the OEM crap on the bars until I change them. Splitting the cost over time.
     
    chubs likes this.
  13. MossBerg590

    MossBerg590 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2014
    Messages:
    616
    Likes Received:
    568
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Location:
    Arizona
    My Bike(s):
    06 Big Dog Ridgeback
    First Name:
    Tyler
    You could do that, changing the bars would be if you were going to use harley controls.
     
    chubs likes this.
  14. BadDawg Bill

    BadDawg Bill Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,595
    Likes Received:
    6,203
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Deltona fl
    My Bike(s):
    2008 Softail dexuxe customized
    First Name:
    Deplorable BadDawg Bill
    You could use the stock bars and controls but it would be worse than the stock setup. Harley bars are 1" and BD bars are 1 1/4" so you would need to change the bars and controls to do it right. If you want the stock bars and controls you would wind up with a bunch of relays. Ebay has Harley controls complete with a wiring harness for around $220. A set of bars can be from $50 used to $400 custom. I have a set of Chubby pull back bars 1 1/4" that fit Harley controls brand new for $150 that cost me $250.

    http://lakeland.craigslist.org/mpo/5028259210.html

    There are good deals out there but the most important thing is when you are done.... you're done! Ride and have fun. Other systems that use computers are a swap from one bad system to another and in the end you will go old school if you love your bike and want to ride.

    BD had a great idea but failed in practice. Putting a computer in a Hot, Wet, Vibrating motorcycle doesn't work. It never will. Ya, a lot of Jap bikes have them but they are not Harley type motors and they are way better engineered.
     
    chubs likes this.
  15. pauldeepsea

    pauldeepsea Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    4,319
    Likes Received:
    4,461
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    California
    My Bike(s):
    2004 Pitbull/ridgeback , 2006 big bear sled 300
    First Name:
    Paul
    FYI, I have had my wire plus since 09 and only issues are shit I screwed up. My big bear btw also uses a wp harness which I modified during the rebuild. Personally like the wp ... Actually have had decent customer service .
     
    chubs likes this.
  16. lee

    lee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,818
    Likes Received:
    67
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Bristol, England
    My Bike(s):
    2005 Big Dog custom build and Buell custom build
    with the hand controls, you could, if you know a good welder or can weld well yourself, remove the switches, weld up the holes and drill for standard micro switches. I've done it. There's probably a picture on here somewhere. I have to say I like the total rewire / hardwire with no control unit. Seems the most reliable if its done properly. On my other bike I used the full chopper harness from Scooters Performance in Florida - all the wires are individually labelled and you just follow the steps. Its not cheap but its pretty full proof if you're not an expert (and I'm certainly not). Done over 10k on that bike now which vibrates like you wouldn't believe and not a single electrical problem so far.
     
    chubs and BadDawg Bill like this.
  17. Blake johnson

    Blake johnson New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Pocatello idaho
    My Bike(s):
    2005 ridgeback
    First Name:
    Blake
    Which ignition switch did you use for the big dog cover coil I need a 3-wire 3-stage ignition switch to fit the coil cover could you let me know which one I've look at so many right now I can't figure out which one it is this is Blake Johnson

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-J120A using Tapatalk
     
    chubs likes this.
  18. KaptinAmerika

    KaptinAmerika Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,602
    Likes Received:
    1,605
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    USA
    My Bike(s):
    2006 Big Dog K9
    First Name:
    Curtis
    The above is generally the case with Big Dog systems as well or some poor guy bought it after someone else screwed it up.
     
    chubs and bigkelk9 like this.
  19. bigkelk9

    bigkelk9 Well-Known Member
    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2015
    Messages:
    2,972
    Likes Received:
    5,275
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Southeast Texas / Southern California
    My Bike(s):
    07 big dog k9
    First Name:
    Kel
    20170527_112441.jpg
    Mine has kinda the same set up. This is the ignition switch I used.. first one lasted 8 years, only reason I replaced it was because I lost the keys. Found em sense then. Lol
     
    #19 bigkelk9, Jun 28, 2017
    Last edited: Jun 28, 2017
    chubs likes this.
  20. BadDawg Bill

    BadDawg Bill Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,595
    Likes Received:
    6,203
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Deltona fl
    My Bike(s):
    2008 Softail dexuxe customized
    First Name:
    Deplorable BadDawg Bill
    A sportster one will work.
     

Share This Page